In New Hampshire, all employers must participate in the state Workers Compensation program, administered by the Department of Labor.
This insurance program covers medical expenses and 60 percent of lost wages, providing disability income for workers hurt on the job. It does not matter who is at fault, or whether you are a full-time, part-time or even an immigrant worker. It also protects employers from worker lawsuits for these losses.
You do not need a lawyer to file for a New Hampshire workplace injury claim. However, while the claims process usually goes smoothly, there are times when worker claims are denied. If you were injured on the job and the insurance company chosen by your employer denies your claim, the NH Workers Comp program provides for hearings and appeals.
As a New Hampshire workers compensation law firm, Wyskiel, Boc, Tillinghast & Bolduc, P.A. has skilled attorneys who represent injured workers struggling to obtain just compensation.
If you find there is a problem or delay with your claim, a workers comp attorney can represent your case and offer legal guidance and leverage to fight for the benefits you deserve.
When you are hurt on the job and miss more than three consecutive days of work as a result, report the injury or illness to your employer, who will then give you a standard accident report called form 8aWCA to fill out. Since you must report workplace injuries and illnesses within two years, complete all paperwork as soon as possible. Make sure you keep copies of all workers comp forms and medical records.
You may pick your own doctor, but be sure to let all healthcare providers know your injury or illness was work-related. Your doctor will give you form 75WCA-1 stating any limitations on the work you can perform when you return to the job. Your employer must abide by these doctor's orders.
According to a fact sheet provided by the NH Coalition for Occupational Safety and Health, if you need legal assistance, find an attorney who is knowledgeable and experienced in New Hampshire workers compensation law. You will not have to pay out-of-pocket. The attorney will be awarded 20 percent of your unpaid disability benefits if he or she wins your appeal. If you lose the appeal, you do not have to pay the attorney.
The New Hampshire workers compensation law firm of Wyskiel, Boc, Tillinghast & Bolduc, P.A. offers a free initial consultation to all personal injury clients as well as bilingual service, and we can even visit you at home or in the hospital if you cannot travel to our Dover, NH office.
Contact a NH workers compensation lawyer to file a workplace injury claim today
Wyskiel, Boc, Tillinghast & Bolduc, P.A. represents workers hurt on the job in NH and the Tri-State and Seacoast area including Maine, Vermont and Massachusetts. So if you need the help of a New Hampshire work site injuries lawyer, please call us at 800.363.7186 or contact us online to arrange for a free initial consultation.